Book box

Boîte à Lire

As part of a teaching project supervised by their teacher Mrs Delphine Ronchon, B1 level students (Hye-Jin, Zhijia, Dario, Dime, Vanda, Sonya, Bob, Chelo, Rebecca, Julia and Ruigi) have set up an AFBA book box.

Whilst the class’s objectives were focussed around citizen action, environmental awareness, paying tribute to craftsmanship in public spaces and reading, the general public was given the opportunity to learn more about the book box initiative that is flourishing in many French towns for the duration of a week – so it was decided to create one for Alliance students.

The idea of the book box is to make books available to the general public. You put one in the box, and swap it for another one that you take out. The idea of the initiative is to easily get yourself a book free of charge, thereby encouraging access to books. It stimulates sharing, togetherness and discussion around books, generating social connections. It is also environmentally friendly, since books that you don’t want anymore can be ‘recycled’.    

A complete teaching initiative

Having been reminded of the benefits and importance of reading, learners also got to understand more about the reading habits of French people and talk about their own. The class found that what really got in the way of reading was mainly the price of a book. Working on this basis, the teacher suggested that they explore initiatives designed to facilitate access to books. They considered how travelling books might work, and then the book box. Once the box had been set up, learners got on with a publicity campaign that involved distributing information and explaining the principle of the box to all Alliance learners. In order to achieve this, they put together a press release for Alliance social networks. They also created an advertising poster and drew up a presentation speech to be sent out to all classes so that the box could be introduced, as well as writing up user instructions and leaflets for the inauguration.

The project was an opportunity for learners to think about books in a new way. Their involvement revealed great interest in the box – a box that gives a second life to books, recycling in a modern way, and encouraging discussion and friendship. They had to call upon their creative instincts and work together, helping each other to progress forward in their learning as a group. From a linguistic point of view, they used the vocabulary of books and literary genres, timetables, talking about habits, descriptions of procedures and so on – all tools that are needed to get through each of the project’s different stages.

The project could well spread across the Alliances Françaises network – learners will go on language stays at several centres, facilitating the circulation of the books – so watch this space!

 
Alliance Française Bordeaux Aquitaine - 126, rue Abbé de l'Epée - 33000 Bordeaux
Private institution of higher education - Approved training centre
Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays from 8.30 am to 5.00 pm. Tuesdays and Thursdays from 8.30 am to 7.00 pm.
In summer (from 1st July to 27 September 2019) : Monday to Friday from 8.30 am to 5.30 pm
Web site created and hosted byAgoraline

Boîte à Lire

Boîte à Lire

Dans le cadre d'un projet pédagogique encadré par leur enseignante Mme Delphine Ronchon, les apprenants de niveau B1 (Hye-Jin, Zhijia, Dario, Dime, Vanda, Sonya, Bob, Chelo, Rebecca, Julia et Ruigi) ont mis en place une boîte à lire à l'AFBA. 

Durant une semaine, alors que les objectifs de la classe étaient articulés autour de l’action citoyenne, de l’écologie, du respect du savoir-vivre dans les lieux publics et de la lecture, le public a été amené à découvrir l’initiative des boîtes à lire qui fleurissent dans beaucoup de villes françaises. Il a alors été décidé d’en créer une à destination des apprenants de l’Alliance.

Le principe d’une boîte à lire est de mettre des livres à la disposition du public. On vient déposer un livre et on en prend un autre en échange. Ce concept a pour objectif de se procurer un ouvrage gratuitement, simplement et donc de favoriser l’accès à la lecture. Il prône le partage, la solidarité, l’échange autour des livres et crée du lien social. Il a en outre une vertu écologique car il permet le « recyclage » des livres que l’on ne souhaite plus garder.

Un projet pédagogique complet

Après avoir rappelé les vertus et l’importance de la lecture, les apprenants ont pris connaissance des habitudes de lecture des Français pour finalement parler des leurs. La classe a établi que les freins à la lecture étaient essentiellement liés au prix du livre. A partir de ce constat, leur enseignante leur a proposé de découvrir des initiatives ayant pour but de faciliter l’accès aux livres. Ils ont abordé le fonctionnement des livres voyageurs et de la boîte à lire. Une fois la boîte créée, les apprenants ont pris en charge une action de communication. Il s’agissait de diffuser l’information et d’expliquer le principe de cette boite à tous les apprenants de l’Alliance. Pour cela, ils se sont occupés de la préparation d’un communiqué pour les réseaux sociaux de l’Alliance, de la création d‘une affiche de promotion, de la rédaction d’un discours à diffuser dans les classes afin de  présenter la boite, de la rédaction d‘un mode d’emploi et de tracts pour l’inauguration.

Ce projet a permis aux apprenants de poser un regard nouveau sur les livres. Leur implication a révélé un intérêt pour cette boîte qui donne une seconde vie aux livres, les recycle de manière moderne et favorise l’échange et la convivialité. Ils ont dû faire appel à leur créativité, ils ont collaboré, se sont entraidés pour progresser collectivement dans leur apprentissage. D’un point de vue linguistique, ils ont utilisé le lexique des livres et des genres littéraires, les rapports temporels, l’expression de l’habitude, la description d’une procédure, etc.,  autant d’outils nécessaires à la réalisation des différentes étapes du projet.

Ce projet pourrait ensuite s'étendre à tout le réseau des Alliances Françaises. Les apprenants effectuent des séjours linguistiques dans plusieurs centres ce qui facilite la circulation des ouvrages. A suivre ! 

 
Alliance Française Bordeaux Aquitaine - 126, rue Abbé de l'Epée - 33000 Bordeaux
école privée d'enseignement supérieur - association loi 1901 - organisme agréé de formation
lundi, mercredi et vendredi de 8h30 à 17h - Mardi et jeudi de 8h30 à 19h
En été, du 27 juin au 16 septembre 2016, du lundi au vendredi de 8h30 à 17h30
Site conçu et hébergé parAgoraline